Getting The Deal Through logo
Getting The Deal Through

European immigration – time of change?

Stephanie Odumosu and Stephan Judge


Tuesday 24 September 2019

Immigration matters go to the heart of European politics, with the freedom of movement of European nationals to live and work across the bloc enshrined as a founding pillar of the European project. Though the United Kingdom voted to leave the European Union, there have been no changes with regard to the status of EU nationals in the UK, nor the status of UK membership of the EU at the time of writing. Freedom of movement continues to apply to EU and European Economic Area (EEA) nationals in the UK, as well as UK nationals across the continent. As such, Europe currently remains the only continent that is able to quickly and freely deploy its citizens across most of its mainland and its islands without any restrictions. Switzerland, although not in the EU or EEA, joined this free movement of people through bilateral agreements, and although recent political changes in the country had put a potential question mark over its long-term participation, this seems to have been resolved for the time being.

To read more
sign up for access

login here login here.

In house counsel join for free. Individual practitioners and lawyers may register for a free trial. For information on firmwide subscriptions please contact us.

Follow Getting the Deal Through for the latest updates on law and regulation worldwide

Follow us on LinkedIn